Hot Karl - In My World

The day after I left Interscope in 2002/2003, I found myself somewhat ready to start rapping again, this time with a focus on personally having fun. I learned quickly that at the end of the day, everything is going to come down to how I feel. Not how people respond to my music, or what happens on the industry politics side. My own happiness would basically rank above everything else when the dust settled.

I ended up at producer OneEye’s house soon after my release became official and he played me this beat. The sample spoke to me, sort of setting up what I wanted my world to be like. This isn’t a song, as much as a mixtape track where I just got to be myself with a forgettable hook. This is Matty’s favorite Hot Karl song ever, which I can’t really explain, but I do reference a bunch of ridiculous shit in it (I want “hip hop’s Charlie Kaufman” on my tombstone) and I do sound more passionate than usual - so I can still listen to it too. In another universe, I released an EP of like 6 songs where they all have the same vibe and hunger as “In My World.” Not sure anyone would’ve bought it in that universe either.

The day has closed on another #HotKarlWednesday. One of my favorite HK songs. See you next week.

0 plays
  1. hitchhikingthegalaxy reblogged this from jensenkarp
  2. jensenkarp posted this
Formerly known as the Interscope-signed rapper Hot Karl, writer Jensen Karp owns LA's Gallery1988, hosts a podcast and loves the 1989 Tom Hanks vehicle, "The Burbs." You can follow him @JensenClan88.

view archive